Why I Chose To Blog

I admit, I am very lazy. Nothing would delight me more than to sit floating in a pool all day, sipping lemonade, and reading a good book. Instead, I work- at something I enjoy, but it’s still work.

It pays the bills of course, which is always a good thing. It gets me out of the house (as much as a work-from-home freelance situation can). Forces my introverted self to get much needed socialization. And fortunately for me, my attitude is of the kind that even if I don’t necessarily want to be doing something, if I end up being forced to do it anyway, I do it as well as I can. No half measures here. I’d rather just do something right the first time than have to go back and fix it later, when I could be reading.

All this to bring us to why I blog. To start, it’s a great way to grow visibility. For my business, for a client’s business, for social concerns. There is an unlimited number of things that can benefit by being blogged about. Whenever I work with clients who want to set themselves up to be authorities in what they do, I strongly encourage them to blog; it creates community that can bring them the attention they need to succeed. For individuals, community is still at the heart of why we blog. Philip Shirley with Godwin Group gives a list of 10 things that blogging does for you:

1. Enhances your search engine optimization so interested people can find you easier.

2. Demonstrates your expertise and builds your reputation.

3. Provides an outlet for reader’s opinions so you can create a dialog and build a relationship.

4. Attracts potential customers by offering information of value regarding decision making about your industry.

5. Brings recent industry news to light as a service which positions you to be a helpful resource to viewers.

6. Draws positive attention to you by offering a trusted voice.

7. Promotes creativity by posing challenging questions people want to address.

8. Advances digital marketing campaigns by delivering self-evident proof of the power of the medium.

9. Informs others about your industry to create interest in its products or services.

10. Challenges you to be an industry leader by forcing you to keep pace with the changes and trends.

For me, that last strikes a chord. I’ve touched on this before, but I’m going to use the workout metaphor again. For me, blogging is like having a workout buddy. At the gym, your buddy keeps you going, pushes you to try new things, and get better at things you don’t necessarily like all that much. As a copywriter in a developing communication world, if I don’t keep up with the fast-changing industry, I will fail. Miserably. Like dropping a 50 lb. weight on my toe.

Blogging pushes me to keep up with my industry, to join a community of fellow writers and professionals and passionate amateurs. It makes me want to share what I know and to learn from the people I am surrounded by, whose posts inspire me. Knowing that this blog is here, and that someone in the vast world of the internet will notice if I give up, keeps me going.

Going and growing. Has a nice ring doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

