Getting Back To Work

As lovely as it would be to take a week or two off now that school is out and just laze around the house all day, the blinking icon on my computer screen reminds me that I have an assignment to get to work on for a client. I sigh and roll my way out of bed at the ungodly hour of 10 a.m. (just for the record, I am normally up by 8 a.m. at the latest).

I have decided that working/writing is kind of like working out. The first couple of times are near excruciating, like when you have fifty sit ups to do and your abs say “No way.” But then after you know what to expect and how to do it most efficiently, it becomes enjoyable. Your body starts to tone up, and you look down and realize that you have a full page of “location compatible SEO copy” without really trying. The little challenges that crop up, instead of being hassles, become welcome because they… challenge… you. You have to push yourself beyond what you are comfortable with or good at doing, and find that, hey, this isn’t really so bad after all, in fact, I’m kind of good at it. Case in point, like when I added some kickboxing moves to my regular cardio routine. Sure, since I have terrible balance I fell over a couple of time and may or may not have broken a lamp, but once I got into the swing of it, I looked pretty sharp.

So, the point of this long ramble. I have to get up off my butt and work at writing whatever it is I have in my queue for the day so I can gain the rewards of enjoyable new skills which will help me get more jobs which pay the bills. And pay for that broken lamp.

Leave a Reply

